World Cup 2018 – Venues – The Otkritie Arena

The ground-breaking ceremony was held on 2 July 2007, but construction was delayed multiple times for different reasons. Construction was scheduled to be completed between 2009 and 2010 but, as of 2009, the stadium was still in the design stage.

In 2010, the stadium project underwent revision because it was rejected by an architectural council that found the project too ordinary. The current design was developed by AECOM, in association with Sport Concepts, and façade designer, Dexter Moren Associates adjacent to a separate indoor arena.

The main financing of the construction came from the club’s owner Leonid Fedun through affiliated companies LUKoil Company and IFD Kapital. With the construction of the stadium in 2015, the metro station Spartak, which had been completed in 1975, opened for passenger traffic. On 19 February 2013, it was announced that the new stadium will be named «Otkrytiye Arena» for six years under the terms of the contract with Otkrytiye Bank.

On 21 August 2014, a monument to the Starostin brothers, the founders of FC Spartak Moscow, opened near the north stands inside the stadium. A 24.5-meter sculpture of the Roman Gladiator Spartacus, for whom the club is named, was unveiled in the square outside the stadium.

The stadium officially opened on 5 September 2014. Spartak played against Red Star Belgrade and drew 1–1, with Dmitry Kombarov scoring the first goal for Spartak at the new stadium after a free-kick. The stadium was constructed on the site of the Tushino Airport.

Read More...  Sport Central April 2018 Online edition

The new stadium was included in Russia’s bid for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, hosting the opening game, with Luzhniki Stadium slated to host the final. The stadium was completed ahead of VTB Arena, which originally was planned for the World Cup opener.

It was also one of four stadiums used for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup. Artists such as Incubus, Triggerfinger (Park Live 2015) have all performed at the stadium.

The stadium will host Argentina v Iceland (Group D), Poland v Senegal (Group H), Belgium v Tunisia (Group G), Serbia v Brazil (Group E) and a round of 16 game.

The Other Venues

Samara Arena, Nizhny Novgorod, Volgograd Arena, Ekaterinburg Arena, Mordovia Arena, Rostov Arena, Kaliningrad Stadium, Kazan ArenaFisht Stadium, Saint Petersburg Stadium, Luzhniki Stadium, Otkritie Arena.