World Cup 2018 – Venues – The Mordovia Arena

The Mordovia Arena is a football stadium in Saransk, Mordovia, Russia built for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. It also hosts FC Mordovia Saransk of the Russian Professional Football League, replacing Start Stadium. It has a capacity of 44,442 spectators.

The Arena is located in the central part of the city and is within a walking distance of the city’s key infrastructure. The stadium design is based on the image of the sun, the main symbol of ancient myths and legends of the Mordovian people. After the World Cup, the stadium is expected to serve as Saransk and Mordovia’s largest sports and leisure centre.


The decision to construct a new stadium in Saransk had been made before Russia’s bid to host the FIFA World Cup was approved. The Arena was to be built between 2010 and 2012 and commissioned in time for two events: Spartakiad and celebration of the Millennium of the Unity between the Mordovian People and the Peoples of the Russian State. Sport-Engineering is the stadium’s developer. On 2 November 2017, the field in the stadium received its first mowing. The stadium hosted its first match on 21 April 2018.

At the end of 2017, the new stadium in Saransk took its final appearance intended by the design. The finished steel skeleton of the arena was covered with finishing panels, serving as the key design feature of the construction. The surrounding ground was improved, the indoor premises were finished and elevators were installed.

Read More...  World Cup 2018 – Group F preview

The construction of the stadium made it possible to solve a number of large-scale urban planning problems for the provincial city: a new park has been laid out, the embankment of the Insar River has been developed, and the residential area has been linked to the city centre. The area was improved with a space for recreation, public festivities and leisure activities.

The stadium will host Peru v Denmark (Group C), Colombia v Japan (Group H), Iran v Portugal (Group B) and Panama v Tunisia (Group G).

The Other Venues

Samara Arena, Nizhny Novgorod, Volgograd Arena, Ekaterinburg Arena, Mordovia Arena, Rostov Arena, Kaliningrad Stadium, Kazan ArenaFisht Stadium, Saint Petersburg Stadium, Luzhniki Stadium, Otkritie Arena.