Liga Adelante

The Segunda División (Second Division) of the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional (LFP), or the Liga Adelante for sponsorship reasons, is the second-highest division overall in the Spanish football league system after the Liga BBVA.


This championship was created in 1929 by the Royal Spanish Football Federation. Since 1983 it has been organized by the LFP.

On 16 August 2006, the LFP reached an agreement with the banking group BBVA for sponsorship of the Segunda División renaming the league Liga BBVA.

On 4 June 2008, the league was renamed Liga Adelante, after the BBVA slogan, “Adelante.” (“Go ahead” in Spanish), because of the BBVA sponsorship extending to La Liga, which carried the Liga BBVA name.

Since the 2010–11 season, a play-off has been played between teams in positions 3 through 6, to determine which team is promoted to La Liga with the top two in the league table.

League format

As of 2010-11 the league contains 22 teams that play each other home and away for a 42 match season. Each year three teams are promoted to La Liga. The top two teams earn an automatic promotion. The third team to be promoted is the winner of a play-off between the next four best qualified teams in positions 3 through 6 (reserve teams are not eligible for promotion). The play-offs comprise two-legged semi-finals followed by a two-legged final. The bottom four are relegated to Segunda División B.